31 Day Reset – Day 12 – Dear Lizard Brain

According to Rosetta Thurman, our lizard brain is the epicenter of fear. The funny thing is, my therapist also discussed this with me over the summer. My therapist referred to the brain location where fear lies as the “reptilian” part of the brain, also considered the “back of your mind”. She also told me that the front of the brain is the area of common sense and logic where a person is aware that there is no reason to have fear when it comes to certain things.  Anyway, the exercise for day 12 is to write a letter addressing my “lizard brain” or fear so here it is.

Dear Lizard Brain, 

I’ve been noticing you popping up at certain points in this challenge and in my life. It seems like every time I want to do something for my own happiness and growth, you show up and tear me down.

For instance, when I tried to exercise more, you showed up in the form of procrastination. I wanted to see it through but instead I sabotaged my success by allowing you to make me keep thinking daily that “I will do this tomorrow” or “people at the gym are staring at me, they think I am lost and don’t know what I am doing”.  So I just stopped trying. Another example is when I tried to change my life by losing weight and eating better which goes hand in hand with my exercise goal. You came along in the form of self-doubt because you made me allow those numbers on the scale that I kept seeing tear me down. In turn, it made me feel as if I was a lost cause and that I will never lose weight because numbers on the scale remained stagnant so again I gave up. I know I want to get healthy, but you told me I couldn’t.

So, I see what you are doing and I don’t like it. Yes, I know you are afraid of change. You’re afraid of what will happen if I succeed. What you have to understand is that whatever happiness in my life will work out for my good. I was put on earth for a purpose and you are keeping me from fulfilling that potential. 

Well until now you have….

I will no longer allow you to stop my progress in living my ideal life so the next time I see you I will simply give you a nod and go on about my business

Sincerely, 

Serena

Leave a Reply

