31 Day Reset – Day 25 – Stop whining!

I am participating in the 31 Day Reset which is a life coaching challenge hosted by Rosetta Thurman on her blog Happy Black Woman. So far I have really been enjoying the challenge and I hope that you enjoy following me along on this challenge. If you are interested in doing the challenge, click here.

The exercise for day 25 for the 31 day reset is to stop complaining for 24 hours. That can be a feat when we all have something to complain about whether it friends, family, work, school, traffic, etc. I chose to stop complaining for 24 hours starting the evening of Jan 5 to the evening of Jan 6.

When I chose to change my words and thoughts to more positive ones, I noticed that I complain so much! I gripe when my boyfriend does things his way and not mine, I gripe about my teenager, I gripe about how small my house is, I gripe about my job and it is ridiculous. I took the time those 24 hours to really fine the positives in EVERYTHING. Instead of complaining about how lazy my daughter is around the house during that time, I revelled in the fact that loves to work (she works at Baker’s shoes), she completed high school a semester early, she is not using drugs and she has not had any children. I chose to appreciate the fact that my boyfriend is encouraging, always positive, is always home (out in the garage) instead of out in the streets partying and cheating on me. I also chose to relish the fact that I own my home and I can do anything I want to it, I have a nice sized backyard and I can build out more when I have the money so the small size(1200 sq ft) is temporary. I also chose to appreciate that I have a job in this economy instead of whining about things that happen in my job.

Needless to say, I enjoyed this exercise and really opened my mind to the positives and not the negatives that I was whining about.

Leave a Reply

