Why I Don’t Like to Cook

I am sitting here at work on my lunch break eating leftovers and decided to blog about my thoughts on cooking. This morning while cooking my breakfast to bring to work I looked in the ‘fridge and noticed the leftovers. Leftover spaghetti from Monday evening, left over yellow rice from last week, and left over meatballs from…a few weeks ago (yes…a few weeks ago). The first thought that popped into my head was “This is why I do not like to cook!”.

Ok, for those of you who do not follow me on YouTube I have a little background information for you. My 18-year-old daughter moved back in with me in July of 2010. From May 2009 to July 2010 she lived with her father’s family in South Carolina and realized that the grass was not greener on that side.

While she was away I learned to cook for two people: myself and my boyfriend. He is not picky at all and will eat grilled chicken breast, grilled tilapia, sautéed shrimp, scallops, tortelloni, and some other foods with a side of fresh veggies or some canned veggies. We would always have just enough food for dinner and one serving that I could take to work for lunch. It worked out perfect and I did not have to deal with “pickyness”. We would maybe eat something out once every two weeks and that is it. So when my daughter returned things changed.

When she returned she was not happy with our menu so we tried to add more variety.  I had to learn to cook for 3 people and now it has gotten to a point where we order out more (such as: Jimmy Johns Subs, Dominos Pizza, Chinese, Chili’s, Applebees) because no one besides me will cook or no one will eat the left overs! The spaghetti in my fridge…I have been bringing a serving to work daily and I am tired of it.

I am not sure of what to do about this. Should I just cook for myself and let my boyfriend and daughter fend for themselves? Surely this is one of the reason’s that my “health” and fitness journey is pretty hindered now. Who knows….anyway I just really wanted to vent about the situation. I am sure this is not an interesting post but I love that I have a blog and I can just write about what I want. No offense 🙂

4 comments on “Why I Don’t Like to Cook

  1. I know the feeling. I gets mad too at times to keep going in the fridge and seeing leftovers. I just says it like this, if I’m tired of it, then they been tired..LOL it’s just me and my 11 y/o at home that’s only 2 people. Sometimes I will just cook only enough for 1 time feeding because I get tired of seeing leftovers, so you’re not by yourself on that. I hear you loud and clear.

    • Thank you for reading and commenting. I just get tired of how wasteful we have become and I try to eat the leftovers by taking them to work for lunch but after day 2 of leftovers it gets old. I will be talking with my family this weekend on how we can change things.

  2. I have an 18 year old, he’s a picky eater as well and I hate leftovers. I prepare just enough food for myself, unless I plan to eat more later, so that way I don’t have leftovers . I usually let my son know what I am planning to make and he will let me know if he wants some. If he doesn’t he usually finds something else to eat. I’m on a weight loss journey and it’s hard living with someone who wants to eat out almost every night.

    • Hi Venice,
      Yes it is very hard for me to stay on my journey because I live with two people who want to eat out most nights. If I don’t cook then we would not eat. I am not sure how to solve this problem because I really need to lose 30 pounds and so far I have lost 3 since January. I think my boyfriend would cook more if it were just for me and him. We are all going to have a talk this weekend about this. Thanks for reading and commenting.

Leave a Reply

