Natural Hair Journey

I have been natural for 3 years and 7 months. I did my own big chop in December 2009.

IMG_3722

Over the past 3 years I have enjoyed my natural hair journey. I was all about doing different styles such as mini twists, 2 strand flat twists, cornrows. I also did  protective styles such as kinky twists, and crochet braids.

001CIMG1127 CIMG1128IMG_0485 IMG_0486IMG_0494 IMG_0492

IMG_0856 IMG_0857IMG_0708 IMG_0709

In February of this year, I got to a point in my journey where I was tired. I had expectations of how my hair would look and how long it would be at that point. However, my hair was not where I thought it would be. I was at the point where I wanted to do another big chop or start locs. My husband and I compromised and I decided to cut 1-3 inches from my hair to satisfy my desire to cut my hair. In the months since I was in fully protective styles. After the last set of crochet braids  in May that are pictured above I was still feeling like I was “over” my natural hair. I took my crochet braids down and the thought of doing my regimen really annoyed me. I was not looking forward to the shampoo/condition/detangle/partially air dry/twist process. I decided that I was going to start locs.

After doing research, finding a reputable natural hair salon, and having a loc consult, I had to bear with my hair for just a little bit longer until I got my starter locs. On july 11, 2013 I started my loc journey and the thought of not having to do the regimen that I did when I had loose natural hair is such a relief. I was spending too much time on my hair and the time has come for me to focus on healing my mind, body and spirit as opposed to spending 2 or more hours on my hair.

IMG_0714 IMG_0715 IMG_0718 IMG_0720

My locs are being started with two strand twists. I am so excited to be on this new phase of my natural hair journey. I know that the process will require patience. Since I am no longer interested in styling my own hair, I think that I will be quite patient. We shall see as I am sure this will be an up and down process.

Currently, I dont have the expectation that my locs will grow down my back. I just want to try this for a year to see how it goes by taking it one day at a time. I will be documenting my journey on YouTube and also here. So stay tuned while I go through my loc process and wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

