One month loc update & self re-twist at 3 weeks

I was supposed to post this blog two weeks ago but I am so late. Anyway as of August 11 I have had my baby locs in for one month! I honestly did not think I would make it. It seemed that once I decided to be a loc’d natural I have seen loose naturals all around me in my workplace. Their hair have looked so good and making me have second thoughts about becoming loc’d. However, I will stop those thoughts by reminding myself of my reason for loc’ing is because I am tired of the loose natural hair routine of shampoo/condition/detangle/style. When I do that, I am able to keep myself on track.

At three weeks into my journey, I really needed to wash my hair. My loctician told me not to get my hair wet in the first month, but I just could not do it. Plus my hair started looking really rough (in my opinion) when it came to new growth. Here is what it looked like:

IMG_0725 IMG_0726 IMG_0727 IMG_0728 IMG_0729

I had watched many videos about how to shampoo baby loc’s and came across a few videos with advice to dilute shampoo with water in a spray bottle and shampoo with a stocking/wig cap on. So I tried that and it felt amazing to finally shampoo my hair. When I was a loose natural, I would wash my hair every two weeks (unless I was wearing a protective style like kinky twists).  Here are pictures of how my hair looked after the wash:

IMG_0737 IMG_0738 IMG_0739 IMG_0740 IMG_0741 IMG_0742

I used diluted Tresemme Naturals Shampoo (the old formula) to shampoo my hair and used jojoba oil as a leave in. To retwist my hair I used Taliah Waajid’s Loc it up gel and here are pics of after my hair air-dried:

IMG_0754 IMG_0755 IMG_0756 IMG_0757 IMG_0758 IMG_0759

Not bad for my first retwist huh? Well the retwist only lasted for 2 weeks and I did my 2nd retwist this past Friday. I used a different product (ORS loc and twist gel). My next post will be a review of both products and how they worked on my hair. Thanks for reading :-).

6 comments on “One month loc update & self re-twist at 3 weeks

  1. you hair looks neat actually. when i hit that 3rd month, my locs were all over the place and didnt want to lie down lol.

Leave a Reply

